The first ski jump was constructed at Howelsen Hill in 1914 by Karl Howelsen, and ever since the hill has been the center of ski jumping at Steamboat Springs, culminating in 2010 when three skiers who learned and trained at Howelsen Hill won three individual medals and one team medal at the Vancover Olympics. The area was placed on the <a href="http://www.coloradohistory-oahp.org/programareas/register/1503/cty/rt.htm"> National Register of Historic Places </a> in 2000. For a stunning panoramic aerial view of Howelsen Hill in winter see http://www.steamboataerials.com/pano900.html
The HS127 Jump is the largest of the jumps and is accessed at the top by a wooden tower. This model depicts the tower, jump, and landing hill.