The lightstation, completed in 1873, is significant as it was the third completed in Queensland after separation from New South Wales. It is also significant as it was the first built in Australia using a timber framed substructure and cast iron external cladding. A temporary light was erected there in 1866 which was in the form of a tall mast on which the light was exhibited. The light was erected in connection with the guano company mining on the island and blew away in a gale in 1871. A new mast was erected and in 1872 plans were drawn up for the lighthouse. The light was originally a flashing white light of 4,000 candle power.This was increased in 1923 to 23,000 candle power and again in 1928 to 85,000 candle power.
The pedestal was altered in 1928.
The 6 Hectares island, is a coral cay being only 2 metres above sea level. It is at the southern most point of The Great Barrier Reef. It's name is given by the crew of the Lady Elliot, a British ship, who were the first to discover the island. Many wrecks surround the island and over the years, the keepers have assisted in many sea rescues.