The church of St. Nicholas is an unique piece of the Bulgarian Revival Architecture. Located near the Karlovo Historical Museum, they form an ensemble. The church was built in 1847 by builders from Karlovo and Bratsigovo. It was also painted by prominent artists from Samokov, Tryavna and Bansko, including Stanislav Dospevski and Ivan Zografski who painted many of her icons. The belfry tower was built in 1890. Here in 1858 was the first celebration of the day of the Bulgarian alphabet. In the churchyard of St. Nicholas is the grave of Gina Kuncheva, the mother of the Apostle of Liberty Vasil Levski.