The first ski jump was constructed at Howelsen Hill in 1914 by Karl Howelsen, and ever since the hill has been the center of ski jumping at Steamboat Springs, culminating in 2010 when three skiers who learned and trained at Howelsen Hill won three individual medals and one team medal at the Vancover Olympics. The area was placed on the <a href="http://www.coloradohistory-oahp.org/programareas/register/1503/cty/rt.htm"> National Register of Historic Places </a> in 2000. For a stunning panoramic aerial view of Howelsen Hill in winter see http://www.steamboataerials.com/pano900.html
The HS75 jump was recently converted to allow jumping during the summer as well as winter. Depicted in the model is the jump as it appears in the summer, with both the jump surface and the landing surface consisting of green plastic "grass".