Upminster windmill is a smock mill. It was built in 1803 and continued in use until 1934. This type of mill got its name from the resemblance to the smocks once worn by farmers. Although once a common site, the wooden structures of smock mills were prone to decay and they are now quite rare in the UK. Upminster’s is considered to be amongst the finest based on its condition and its completeness. There were originally a number of out-buildings and a steam-engine house but these became derelict and were demolished around 1960. Occupying a majestic position, Upminster Windmill was voted as the most iconic building in the London Borough of Havering and has become its emblem for the London 2012 Olympics. Owned by the Council, the Mill is opened to the public by a charitable organisation the “Friends of Upminster Windmill.” The Friends undertake maintenance work and hope to raise the money for a full restoration, without which the fabric of the Mill will continue to decay.